Samsungageddon – The Beginning

T.G.I.M  Thank God it’s Monday!!! . . . said no one ever

Once upon a time (1.5 years ago) a top notch husband and father bought his wife a new washer to replace their old worn down one they had bought when first married.  Figuring he would reach for the stars, he went all in and bought a Samsung top loader, with nearly twice the capacity of their old washer, to help with those huge loads of baby/toddler clothes that were always piling up.  Those were simpler times, when men were men and washing machines were our friends.  Let me take you back to March of 2014.

887276018157lg.jpg

 

Meet the Samsung WA50F9A7DSW/A2.  I was all excited the day this little bundle of joy arrived.  My wife was excited about its cool features and extra capacity, and I was the cock-of-the-walk for quite some time, feeling like I had met my hunter/gatherer/purchaser duties to the utmost.  Not to brag overly much, but the Samsung found a good home with us, enjoying a roof over its head, quality plumbing, and nothing but the finest name brand detergents.  A year and a half went by, and we suspected nothing. . . until

Monday November 9 2015.

I was getting ready for work at 7:30 in the morning, while my wife prepped the kids for their day.  Suddenly I heard an explosion, and the house shook.  I ran through the hall meeting my wife in front of the laundry room to discover:

Early in the morning of that fateful Monday, our Samsung washer decided to go to that great spin cycle in the sky.

So what happened?  

The washer jumped about 3 feet from the wall, rotated 120 degrees or so, banged into the wall, laundry sink and dryer, and the inside components declared martial law.  See the video below for a complete walk through:

 

Episode 2 of the Samsung Chronicles continues after this short break . . .

Leave a comment